Witteveen+Bos Thesis Prize: sustainable design principle Trias

Published on {{ $filters.formatDateWithYear(1653343200000) }}

This year, for the second time, Witteveen+Bos will be awarding a thesis prize in connection with a sustainable design principle. In each edition of the prize, one of Witteveen+Bos’s seven sustainable design principles is central, and in 2022 that principle is ‘Trias’. The prize is open to all students of universities and colleges (‘hogescholen’).

With this prize, Witteveen+Bos hopes to stimulate the next generation of engineers and consultants to employ sustainable design.


The Trias design principle seeks to minimise the use of finite resources. It involves a three-step strategy intended to limit and optimise the use of energy and raw materials. This, in turn, reduces the cost of a design throughout its lifespan.

The thesis prize is awarded to the wo/hbo thesis that contributes best or most to – and/or has the greatest impact on – the (further) development of Witteveen+Bos’s sustainable design principle Trias, and which explicitly aligns with at least one of the United Nations’ seventeen Sustainable Development Goals.

The prize consists of a sum of money to be used by the winner in connection with the Trias sustainable design principle. This could take the form of a course of study or related trip, a training course, a conference, project development, or further talent development. The winner also receives the Witteveen+Bos Sustainable Design Trophy.


Submissions for the Trias thesis prize can be made until 31 August 2022. The prize will be awarded in autumn 2022, and it is open to all students from both universities and colleges (‘hogescholen’).

The conditions for submitting a thesis are as follows. The thesis must:

  • Contribute to and/or have an impact on the (further) development of Witteveen+Bos’s sustainable design principle Trias;
  • Explicitly align with one of the United Nations’ seventeen Sustainable Development Goals;
  • Be innovative;
  • Be socially relevant;
  • Be applicable;
  • Be published in the academic year in which the awarding of the prize takes place (2021-2022);
  • Be submitted before 1 September 2022.

This year’s independent jury consists of dr.ir. Ralph Lindeboom of TU Delft; and from Witteveen+Bos dr.ir. Arjen van Nieuwenhuijzen, ir. Tom Wilms, and CSR Coordinator Rosanne Hamers.

The Witteveen+Bos thesis prize was launched last year to celebrate our 75-year existence; it succeeds the Jaap van der Graaf Prize, which was awarded annually to the student or researcher who had published the best English-language article on waste water treatment that year.

More information about the thesis prize can be obtained via communications@witteveenbos.com. This is also the e-mail address where students can send their thesis.

More information