Deep stations

Four underground stations were constructed for the new metro line; Rokin, Vijzelgracht, De Pijp and Europaplein. All four were designed by Benthem Crouwel Architects. The first three are at significant depths – Rokin station is at 21.5 meters below Amsterdam Ordnance Datum (AOD). Vijzelgracht station is at 26 meters below AOD and De Pijp station, which has two storeys with platforms at each one, at 16.5 and 26.5 below AOD. These stations were constructed using the so-called walls-roof method, with diaphragm walls used to create the walls. Europaplein station is at 8 meters below AOD and was constructed in an open excavation.

Stations Rokin, Vijzelgracht and De Pijp
Three underground stations were constructed at significant depths – Rokin, Vijzelgracht and De Pijp. The tracks in these three stations are located far underground, at depths of 21.5 to over 25 metres. The stations were built using a special method based on diaphragm walls and grouting techniques, in some cases at a distance of just 3 metres from the historic facades of nearby buildings.

De Pijp station has superimposed platforms at two levels, since the tunnel tubes cannot be located next to each other below the narrow Ferdinand Bolstraat without prior demolition. Demolishing buildings for the construction of the North/South Metro Line had been ruled out on principle, making the design and construction of De Pijp station particularly complex.

Rokin station was excavated using innovative jet grouting techniques. At a depth of over 30 metres, the soil was reinforced using grout (a fluid form of concrete consisting of a mixture of water, cement and sand) to provide horizontal support for the walls, in order to minimise subsidence in the area.

Share this page